Posted on: October 30, 2008 9:50 am

The Next Most-Deserving Championship Goes to...

The Phillies ended a 28-year title drought, and a 25-year barren streak for Philadelphia, with its World Series win over the Tampa Bay Rays.

Phils fans deserve this.

What other long-suffering but loyal fan base(s) is most deserving of a title? These are the fans who show up (read: not the Miami Dolphins) and remain vocal yet still get denied year after year.

Oh, and don’t say the Chicago Cubs. Too easy.

You could go with the New York Knicks, and original NBA team that’s won only two titles, in 1970 and 1973.

The Minnesota Vikings’ fans certainly deserve a Lombardi Trophy.

I'll go with the Toronta Maple Leafs in the NHL, the home city of the Hockey Hall of Fame last sipped from the Stanley Cup in 1967.

But what about the city of Cleveland, they deserve a title.

The last Cleveland title came in 1964 when the Brown won the NFL championship.
The Indians last won in 1948.
The Cavaliers have never won the NBA title!
And the NHL Cleveland Barons vanished after two unsuccessful seasons.

Category: General
Tags: Championship
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com